• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Hello from Ohio! :)

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Offline MazerRackham77 - Posted August 10 2024 - 10:01 PM

MazerRackham77

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • LocationOhio

Hello, I am relatively new to ant-keeping. I live in Ohio, where we've got plenty of ants for most of the year. I've been trying to get into ant-keeping for almost a year now, but due to some misinformation I got from an ant-keeping guidebook, my first attempts didn't go so well.  :(

I'm a bit better prepared the second time around, thankfully. I've currently got one Camponotus Pennsylvanicus Black Carpenter Ant queen and three Tetramorium Immigrans Pavement Ant queens. I originally had five, but I gave two to a friend who is also trying to get into the hobby.

All my queens are in AntsCanada test tubes, and I have AC test tube portals to transition them into. I currently have both Carpenter Ant and Pavement Ant nanitics, so they seem to be doing good.

However, I was hoping I could find out how many nanitics are recommended in Black Carpenter Ant and Pavement Ant setups before transitioning them to an intermediate setup where they would be fed?